One

According to a Perseus | WebSurveyor survey:

1.09 million blogs were one-day wonders, with no postings on subsequent days. The average duration of the remaining 1.63 million abandoned blogs was 126 days (almost four months).

I am proud to be able to say that this weblog is still alive and kicking, being one year old! Well, actually, the first post here was posted on the 22nd of February, but I had started it two days earlier elsewhere. The first posts were pretty lame, but this blog has evolved into something I’m quite pleased with.

Now, I would have liked to do something special to celebrate this one-year anniversary, but I couldn’t think of anything, so I’ll just go over some statistics ;)

The best day ever (when it comes to number of views) was quite recent, 11 February, when an article hit the front page of Digg.com, OSNews.com and was linked to from a few other sites (thanks!), resulting in a total of 47,595 views. As I write this, there’s been a total of 227,593 views about half of which occurred since that article got popular.

The most popular term people enter in search engines to find this blog is ubuntu usb (1,067 hits), closely followed by xubuntu compiz (1,030 hits), obviously targeting the popular posts on putting Ubuntu 7.04 on your USB flash drive and installing Compiz on Xubuntu 7.10, respectively.

Apart from the tremendous amount of visitors that dropped by from OSNews (15,651 referrals just from the front page) and Digg (8,572 referrals just from the front page), a great number of visitors arrived through Xubuntu’s page on Distrowatch.com (4,873 referrals).

Then I’ve also redirected quite a few visitors elsewhere, such as my screenshot of Xubuntu looking like Windows Vista (2,145 clicks) or the web page providing patched images of Ubuntu and Xubuntu that would run off USB (2,030 clicks).

Up till now, I’ve written a total of 27 posts (this being the 28th) which generated a total of 572 comments (yours being the 573rd ;) ), without counting the 5,088 spam comments :).

I’d also love to be able to give you some statistics regarding browser- and operating system usage, but unfortunately, the WordPress.com statistics do not show those and I do not have the resources to host this weblog elsewhere and buy it a domain name. A good sign, however, is that nobody has been complaining about black bars around images which are caused by Internet Explorer 6 not supporting transparency ;)

Monthly growth started to stagnate but received a massive boost with the recently popular article.


Unfortunately, the same boost almost reduced my weekly and daily growth to a flat line ;)





Don’t worry, the next post will be a normal informative post again, and hopefully I’ll be able keep that up at least another year :)

13 Responses to “One”


  1. 1 Philip 20 February 2008 at 6:19 pm

    Happy Birthday Xubuntu Blog! :) Those are some impressive figures, congratulations, and keep up the good work!

  2. 2 Peter 21 February 2008 at 3:14 am

    Yes, kudos. I think this blog does a good job of balancing the more technical stuff with an accessible and user-friendly approach. Simple things like providing ample screen shots are very helpful to newcomers. This site is the first place I search for help, even before the forums.

  3. 3 Tony 21 February 2008 at 4:28 pm

    Your blog is nice and light, and for some reason you seem to anticipate what I need to know about Xubuntu before switching from Ubuntu.

    Also, I like to ride “waves”, and so when you start getting a lot of hits, I will leave. Sorry. :-)

  4. 4 Vincent 21 February 2008 at 5:12 pm

    @Philip – thanks!

    @Peter – really? You’re giving me a very warm fuzzy feeling inside now ;)

    @Tony – waves? I don’t get it :S
    But I hope you’ll hang around, I like readers :)

  5. 6 whyamistilltyping 29 February 2008 at 11:33 am

    Congrats on the anniversary! My blog just passed the 4 month mark (although technically its twice as old – I moved from a different blogging platform to wordpress.) Thats an amazing traffic spike, the biggest spikes I get at the moment are in the few hundreds :)

  6. 7 Papa 29 February 2008 at 11:50 am

    Hi Vincent,

    Well done, I am proud of you !!

    Your dad

  7. 8 Lisanne 4 March 2008 at 10:58 pm

    Vinzje,
    Ik wilde alleen even vertellen dat ik het nogal knap van je vindt dat je dat héle gedoe hier in het Engels getypt heb!
    En nee, dat kan ik niet in het Engels vertellen :$
    KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK (ook al snap ik er niet al te veel van)!
    x

  8. 9 yungchin 4 March 2008 at 11:15 pm

    Hi Vincent,

    A belated happy birthday! (well, to your blog that is :))
    Thanks for sharing the statistics, those graphs are really funny. A well deserved number of visitors I think: people appreciate that you only post when you really have something to share.

    Are you gearing up for a post on next month’s release?
    YC

  9. 10 Vincent 5 March 2008 at 8:44 am

    Thanks everyone :)

    @yungchin – yes, I’m definitely wanting to do a review, I just need to set myself to writing one ;)
    I’ve already put 8.04 on my USB flash drive (which I’m also planning another tutorial on) and I can tell you – it rocks.

  10. 11 kOoLiNuS 11 March 2008 at 8:31 pm

    ONLY 27 posts in a year ? shame on you lazy penguin !

    {I’m joking, congrats !!!}

  11. 12 Catharina 31 March 2008 at 5:38 pm

    Hi Vincent, these are impressive numbers! Keep up the good work and I am glad to see you back at my blog. Was wondering where you had gone :-)

  12. 13 Julian 2 April 2008 at 9:22 pm

    Hey, Vincent

    Good job, keep up the great work. Can’t really I say I actually read anything, but those are some impressive statistics! Hope you’ll last for years and years to come.

    Julian


Leave a Reply

a


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

