Restoring the Xfce panels

One question that people looking for help with Xubuntu often have is some form of “my panels/taskbar/menu disappeared”. Unfortunately, this is something that happens quite frequently.

The good news is that this is fixed easily. All that’s required is to press Alt+F2 to bring forward the Run program window, and run the command xfce4-panel.



Not only is this a quick fix for the problem, it also makes for a quick blog post that might still help quite a few people 😉

Update: Xubuntu 9.04 will include Xfce 4.6 which should be able to automatically restore the panel in the event of a crash. Hooray 🙂

Update to that: According to willerlite, the panels do not automatically re-appear. Hmm :S

21 Responses to “Restoring the Xfce panels”


  1. 1 flacvest 10 September 2008 at 3:55 am

    I had the same problem with Xfce, but in my root user account. The fix for me was to copy my regular user’s ~/.config/xfce/ directory over to my /root/ directory… All of a sudden things were fixed! root had panels again.

    Nice to see you still blogging away!

    flacvest

  2. 2 Vincent 10 September 2008 at 8:31 pm

    If you have the problem in your root user account (which, of course, it’s recommended never to use 😉 ), you should be able to do the same, but logged in as root.

    Anyway, I need more ideas like this to blog about – all my other ideas involve length blog posts that take up way too much time…

  3. 3 bill 12 September 2008 at 3:05 pm

    i’m curious why this happens at all? it’s much to regular to be considered a mere annoyance. i’d like to see this get fixed permanently.

  4. 4 Vincent 12 September 2008 at 3:18 pm

    I’d like it to be fixed as well, but have no idea how to. It could be that this is already fixed for 8.10. If not, I have high hopes that the new version of Xfce (4.6) that’s coming up (probably not for 8.10 though) will no longer have this issue.

  5. 5 Peter 23 September 2008 at 8:05 pm

    This is a great tip. I haven’t had any problems with it since I upgraded to 8.04, but I had the disappearing taskbar problem on 7.10.

  6. 6 Shaded Spriter 6 November 2008 at 11:38 pm

    It isn’t fixed in 8.10 sadly…I have just experienced it.

    I don’t know why it happened. But thanks to this blog post I got it fixed quickly. 🙂 Adding this to my list of ubuntu/linux blogs/RSS feeds.

  7. 7 anish 20 November 2008 at 6:16 pm

    Hi,
    Yes it is not fixed in 8.10, how can we fix this?

  8. 8 Vincent 1 March 2009 at 1:14 am

    This problem won’t occur in Xubuntu 9.04 anymore, which will ship Xfce 4.6 which can automatically restart it when it crashes. See my latest blog post 🙂

  9. 9 Dave 20 March 2009 at 2:52 am

    Thanks for the info on restoring the task bar. It worked like a charm. I have been trying to do this for about three weeks on and off. I am sorry that I didn’t take the time to look for this blog earlier. It has been worth all the time I have spent reading the material on this and other subjects.

  10. 11 willerlite 2 May 2009 at 5:54 am

    don’t let anyone tell you it won’t happen in 9.04 – cus it does

    thanks for the help.

    • 12 Vincent 2 May 2009 at 12:02 pm

      You mean it also doesn’t automatically restart? Is that a fresh install or have you upgraded from a previous version of Xubuntu? (I can’t try it for myself, unfortunately – 9.04 won’t work…)

    • 13 willerlite 5 May 2009 at 5:06 pm

      Was a fresh install of 9.04 and the taskbar just suddenly stopped showing up. I added it to the autostarted modules list and it always came up after that, though it was the last thing to load.

    • 14 Vincent 5 May 2009 at 5:19 pm

      Thanks, I added a note to the post.

  11. 15 bobg 23 June 2009 at 11:32 am

    I seem to have another xfce (4.6.0) problem in Jaunty which no-one is referring to… This happens as follows: When I press the Quit button (the little door!) xfce asks me if I wish to quit xfce – not shut down the system. If I press OK, then xfce crashes and after telling me it has crashed, then restarts – if I press Cancel, well, it cancels. Also the Quit on the Applications menu no longer works – nothing happens. The only way I shut down is to press the physical power button, which does an orderly shut down.
    How can I make the Quit button work properly again?

  12. 17 J.J 19 April 2011 at 9:42 pm

    To solve this problem, go to XFCE SETTINGS MANAGER and then go to SESSION AND STARTUP section. Then go to the APPLICATION AUTOSTART and click the add button. In the command line add the command of mentioned above and make a title for it like XFCE PANEL. This will solve your problems.

  13. 18 ben waymaster 23 October 2011 at 9:53 pm

    Thank you helped a lot

  14. 19 El Huda Bin Uye 27 June 2013 at 7:15 am

    thanks very much I have find my panel….


  1. 1 Xfce making great strides with version 4.6 « Xubuntu Blog Trackback on 1 March 2009 at 2:16 am
  2. 2 My XFCE Panel Disappeared! « linuxschminux Trackback on 15 June 2012 at 12:49 am

Leave a comment




a